A Year of Enjoyment

I had a hard time titling this post, because the trips I’m discussing don’t fall under a single label. This fall I got to take 2 precious trips-small by other people’s standards but big to me-and I wanted to share that beauty with you.

Were they enjoyable? Of course! Relaxing? Definitely! But more than anything, they are precious memories that I savor as I attempt to calm the chaos in my life.

photo-1-1

The first was a trip to the Smoky Mountains-a girls’ trip, to be exact. I go every year with these particular women. Since we’re all authors, we write. We brainstorm. Talk shop. Share about our families, what’s going well and not so well.

photo-2-2

But we also play board games and laugh, which is good-I don’t laugh often enough. And we try to do something we’ve never done together before just for the sheer fun of doing it. This year we went to an Escape Room (and made it out with 20 minutes to spare!).

Cards Against Humanity
Cards Against Humanity
Marrying Mr. Darcy
Marrying Mr. Darcy

photo

As if that wasn’t fun enough, I also got to visit Cade’s Cove this year! I’ve been nearby before, but never made the trek over there. Absolutely gorgeous!

photo-2-3

photo-3

Just a few weeks later, I went with my husband to a cabin on the lake for the weekend. We haven’t been away alone together in many years, so this was a very special treat.

photo-1

photo-2

Its so wonderful to discover that after 20 years + we can still have interesting conversations, similar interests, and the ability to simply rest in each other’s presence. It was a quiet, reaffirming weekend.

What’s the most peaceful time you’ve had lately?

Dani

Continue scrolling for the “new” extra features…

WHAT I’M READING THIS MONTH

take-off-your-pants-cover

Writers Beware! This is a plotting method book that I’m trying to learn. I was already a plotter (so the pants were already long gone), so I’m hoping to add a little streamlining to my process. The book is quick, but not necessarily easy. If you’re interested in stepping up your plotting process, this book is perfect for you!

WHAT I’M WRITING THIS MONTH

I just turned in the proposal for my first Savannah Sisters trilogy, which will start next year with Harlequin Desire! I’ll be working on that, in addition to a short story that I hope to release next year.

Reining in the Billionaire, Dani Wade, Harlequin DesireThe start of my upcoming Kentucky Harrington brothers is now up for pre-order! Check it out on Amazon and B&N.

Add to the Discussion

