Pinterest: Yay or Nay?

I adore pictures. Sometimes I love them more than words, because they inspire a multitude of stories and ideas in my writer’s brain.

I resisted joining Pinterest for a long time. First there was the whole legal, copyright issues. Then I convince myself that I didn’t need the time suck (I knew what to temptation it would be, from the beginning.)

Pinterest, author fun, pictures

Then I saw one of my author friends, Andrea Laurence’s, Pinterest boards for her books. She creates them the same way I do bulletin boards for my stories – and even better, the links can be submitted to my publisher with my art fact sheet for help with cover creation and ad copy.

So I created my Dani Wade account, and I found it both fun and inspiring. Contrary to my earlier worries, I don’t spend a huge amount of time there (because I simply don’t have it to spend) but when I’m plotting or looking for inspiration, I’ll create new boards and have a flurry of new pins.

Pinterest1-300x210

It’s fun. Sometimes, in the pressure to perform as an author, it’s a relief to have something that’s fun and relieves stress, rather than creating stress.

Same with the rest of life, huh? So what about you? Yay or Nay? Are you a visual person? What media inspires your thoughts and fantasies?

Enjoy!

Dani

Add to the Discussion

