Snow Days for Introverts

You know, I figured out a long time ago that I’m different… But some days I still have revelations about myself that surprise me.

School Closed, Snow Days, Family time, working mom

Last weekend was a “snow event” for Alabama. (for the record, we only need 1 inch of snow to get shut down the city – we got one to 3 inches.) now I have known many mothers through the gears to get very excited about all the fun things to do while stuck at home and having extended family time.

I’m not one of those mothers.

This used to make me feel guilty. After all, what mother doesn’t want to do fun things with her kids? Snow fights, movie nights, homemade hot chocolate and hot soup on the stove. Sounds idyllic- but I could never get the reality to live up to the pictures in my mind. About 12 hours in, I was dying to get out! And feeling horribly guilty about it.

I’ve finally realized there’s a reason for that urge to lock myself in my bedroom until it’s over: I’m an introvert. I’ve known this for a long time, but never connected it to this type of situation. Just because this isn’t a party with strangers or a drawnout dinner with a dozen people doesn’t mean I’m not affected by it.

People are people.

A lot of people would say, but this is your family. All that means is I can tolerate them longer than others… 🙂 but in the end, being in the presence of someone runs down my energy battery. And my battery already has a low charge because, since I started a day Job, I’m home alone about once every three months. For someone who is a true introvert, this is like a slow form of torture. Hubby provides me with a regular write out time, but I’m still in public (while he’s home with the kids – bless his heart), so it’s only a partial charge.

I’m lucky in the sense that my kids are getting older and don’t need to be constantly occupied. We all have our own interest and do separate activities. The difficulty is there’s very little getting away from each other.

How do I mitigate these feelings to a certain extent?

1. Alternate time with family and time in my bedroom (it’s the only place I’m usually and disturbed and the place I right when the family is all home).

2. Take extra long showers or baths (sneaky, but older kids don’t disturb me as much in the bathroom – thank goodness my husband taught them that at a young age).

3.  Proposed activities I really enjoy, like walking in the snow we darkness, building a snowman, or having a movie night.

So, are you an introvert or extrovert? Do you enjoy the cabin fever family days? (if not, don’t feel guilty! You aren’t alone…)

Dani

Snowed in this week? Sign up for my newsletter to receive this snowy read for FREE!

Snow Bound, Small Town Secrets, novella, romance, cover artist

Add to the Discussion

