Autumn’s Harvest Blog Hop

Dani Wade Style!

Autumn is my favorite season, for more than the averages reasons. Yes, it’s cooler and at this stage of my life I have a deep appreciation for cooler temperatures. Yes, the turning and falling leaves are magical here in the southern US. Some of my favorite colors even make their appearance in fall – coppery orange, buttery yellow, rich burgundy, and chocolate brown.

But my favorite part of fall is the cooking! Hot soups on cool nights, dark rich hot chocolate, a crockpot of apple cider, and just about anything pumpkin. Here are a few of my favorite recipes to make your fall that much spicier!

QUICK & EASY APPLE CIDER

This hot, spicy drink is a must for every family gathering at our house from November 1st to February! I hope it spices up your get-togethers too!

64 oz apple juice

2-4 cups each of orange and pineapple juices (to your particular taste)

3 cinnamon sticks

3 whole cloves

2 allspice

Equipment: large crockpot, tea strainer ball

Combine all juices into crockpot. Drop cinnamon sticks into mixture. Place cloves and allspice into tea strainer ball and float in the liquid. Heat on high until juice comes to temperature then switch to low. Set out with plenty of cups and a ladle so guests can help themselves throughout the party.

PUMPKIN BREAD

(recipe courtesy of Emeril Legasse via FoodNetwork.com)

1 teaspoon butter

1/3 cup vegetable shortening

1 cup light brown sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Pinch nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Grease 9X5 loaf pan with butter or cooking spray. With an electric mixer, cream shortening and sugar until smooth. Sift flour, spices, baking soda, baking powder and salt together in separate bowl. Add the eggs, one at a time, to the creamed mixture. Add pumpkin puree and mix until smooth. Add flour mixture, a little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk.

Pour mixture into prepared pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes (should be golden brown) and a knife inserted comes out clean. Cool before serving. Can be served with cream cheese icing.

What’s your favorite fall recipe? I’m always looking to add to my collection.

Commenters between now and Monday night will be entered to win my goodie package: Candles and Chocolate Kisses (including a Fall Festival candle, Godiva Chocolate Caramel Gems, and a $5 Amazon Gift card). Please include your email address in your comment!

Romance author Dani Wade writes sexy suspense novellas, the first of which was released in October 2012. She also writes sexy contemporaries for Harlequin Desire, where she will debut in August of 2013.  You can see more about her books on the BOOKS page, including info on Snow Bound – her debut release.

 

What do you love about Autumn and Fall? What does it remind you of? What about reading? Do you think it’s a good subject to read? Tell us your favorite Autumn stories! Well, we authors are ready to share our favorite Autumn stories and why we love snuggling in the cold.  *wink* Starting on Friday and ending on Nov 12th, over 200 Authors and Bloggers will share their favorite things about those sexy men we know and love.

 

 And while we do that, we are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 200 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger. You can find a complete list of participating blogs at http://carrieannbloghops.blogspot.com/ !  And don’t forget to check back in on Tuesday to find out the winner!

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $50 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains 10+ paperbacks, ebooks, 50+ bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

Thanks for participating.

Dani

49 thoughts on “Autumn’s Harvest Blog Hop

  1. My favorite fall recipe is anything involving pumpkins. I won’t actually eat it, but my family devours anything pumpkin.

  2. Thanks for the giveaway!! Super excited for this bloghop.
    I love the autumn!! Love apple or peach pies!! Super delish.

    kp_kazamei(at)yahoo(dot)com

  3. Autumn is my favorite season! I like all the beautiful colors outside and the weather is not that hot anymore but not freezing cold either. It’s just perfect! Thank you for the giveaway!

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  4. I love to make pumpkin dump cake, it is only 3-4 items dumped and mixed into the pan and cooked. There are many versions, you can make it with any canned pie filling.

    It is a huge hit anytime we make it for a party 🙂

    thanks for the blog hop fun !

    Kym
    flwrs4ever(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. Oh, so many pie suggestions! I also love apple pie. I also love anything pumpkin, but this pumpkin bread is about the only recipe I have.

    So excited to see everyone here today!!!! Keep the suggestions coming!

  6. We make a cherry dream cake that every one always loves at our house and I always get a request for my Pumpkin Angel Food Cake. I love to bake in the fall it helps warm up the house and my nieces and nephews like to come over for cookies and Hot Chocolate.
    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  7. One of my latest favorites is to combine a yellow cake mix with a can of pumpkin; mix and drop into muffin tin then cook as per the directions on cake mix. Delish and low fat!

    3girlzmama at gmail.com

  8. I love reading about things that go bump in the night (with a touch of romance) this time of year.

    Yum! Thanks for the recipe

    thanks for the fun!
    zenfoxflower ATyahooDOTcom

  9. I make a pumpkin bread with a cream cheese swirl! it’s so good!

    Thanks for the giveaway!!

    booksconsidered[at]gmail[dot]com

  10. I adore autumn because of the amazing colors, bundling up in sweaters, Halloween and my birthday! Autumn also means cuddling up with a good book and a cup of cocoa!

    grapeapril75(at)gmail(dot)com

    I love the hops cause of all the awesome new books I find to add to my to read list!

    I don’t cook but boy can I eat! lol

  11. Seven pepper chili is my favorite fall recipe. I buy every fresh pepper in the produce dept.–except habanero–plus a dried chipotle. I mince them and sauté in olive oil. Black beans, red kidney and whatever goes in your favorite chili recipe. Usually there are more than seven kinds of fresh peppers in the stor, but there were only seven when I started. Sweet, mild, hot, spicy–I love peppers. And baked acorn squash with nutmeg and honey! Thanks for participating in the blog hop!
    brendurbanist at gmail dot com

  12. Hi Dani
    Like you I am glad for the cooler temps, the gorgeous leaf colors on the trees & the upcoming holidays. With the cooler temps, I like to chili, vegetable soup, cornbread and tea. As far as recipes for chili or vegetable soup, I don’t have one, I wing it.

  13. Baked apple ‘pie’ is my favorite fall dish. You hollow out apples, chop and spice the apple bits as you would for your favorite apple pie. Then refill the hollowed apples and top with piecrust.

    It’s yummy and so cute!

  14. Cassandra mentioned potato soup — my hubby makes a great 1 by dressing up canned potato soup. Just get the plain canned soup, add butter, milk, pepper, bacon bits. Once its warmed through, he adds sour cream and cheddar cheese. Serve with croutons. Yum-O!

  15. Hmmm… Urb, that 7 pepper chili sounds fascinating, but I’m afraid of anything too hot. Do you know which peppers would qualify as “sweeter” and only give a moderate heat? (I love heat that still has flavor, but not burning.)

  16. Ginger, I have to admit I’m a creamy soup fan (instead of veggie based). But I love chili and the potato soup recipe I gave above. I really need to find a way to expand my repertoire! 🙂

  17. Oh I am loving your pumpkin bread recipe and will be making it soon! Oh yeah…

    My favorite dessert is sweet potato pie. I make the best according to many! 🙂 I only make it for the holidays. That way it stays special. Also I won’t be tempted to eat it so much…discipline….discipline….Belinda! Sigh…!

    I love the burst of colors! The fall earth tone colors are very festive and beautiful. I am lucky to live where you can see the seasons change. I love reading any time so the season doesn’t matter.

    Thanks for the opportunity for both of us to share!

    Belinda G

    belgre AT Comcast DOT net

  18. My favorite thing about Autumn/Fall is the changing color of the leaves. They are so pretty. My least favorite thing is raking up those pretty leaves. LOL I love to curl up by the fire and read a hot romance book on a cold fall evening. Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  19. I like Apple pie or Pumpkin bars (or you could do cookies) with cream cheese frosting!
    I love the fall because of the football games and tailgating! And of course having a campfire with roasted hotdogs! Thanks for the chance to win a great giveaway!
    kacidesignsATyahooDOTcom

    kacidesigns@yahoo.com

  20. I will admit to having no particular favorite fall recipe since I have no cooking skills whatsoever. Trust me, if I attempted a recipe there would either be a fire or food poisoning. As far as fall treats, I do enjoy a good pumpkin spice latte on occasion.

    JYL22075 at gmail dot com

  21. Thanks for sharing those recipes… I was just searching for pumpkin bread recipe and …

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  22. Thanks for joining in the hop. It was great to be introduced to your work.
    My favorite part about autumn is that the cool weather gives me the perfect excuse to keep my oven full of yummy deliciousness that I really can’t do during two of the three other seasons. I love the feeling of being able to have yummy stuff baking while I nestle in with a good read.
    planterofhope(at)aol(dot)com

  23. Sorry, no recipes here. I try to stay out of the kitchen.

    I love the colors in Autumn. Thanks for the giveaway!
    lisarayns at gmail dot com

  24. Those recipes sound delicious! My favorite recipe is a Turtle Pumpkin Pie. I make it for my husband every year! 🙂
    Thank you for the wonderful giveaway and recipes.
    trb0917 at gmail.com

  25. I love all the smells of fall – cooking is a huge part of that. I think that a good old fashioned pot roast or stew provides a great meal on a cold night. Of course we always make lots of soups – both vegetable and cream based. Wouldn’t be fall /winter without all those great heart warming recipes!

  26. Thank you so much for joining me for the blog hope! I enjoyed meeting all of you and hope you will visit again soon.

    Alyson LaBarge is the winner of my fall prize pack! I’ll be contacting you via email immediately.

    Enjoy Autumn!!!!

Add to the Discussion

